top of page
Writer's pictureTonyJanet Kahmann

Tony's addition for November 2022

Janet has been the Keeper of the Blog, and doing a great job. We have reviewed her (our) posts together, and I have loved all that she has posted and the way she has shared our experiences. I have realized, though, that from time to time I should add something to the blog that is "just mine", so with that objective I'm adding a few thoughts today.


There are so many things I love about our mission so far. That's not to say or imply that we haven't had challenges, but all-in-all, the blessings not only far outweigh the difficulties, but the journey and process of facing challenges has increased the intensity of joy for those things cherished and so memorable.


Perhaps the biggest surprise I have experienced is that our "mission-wide" calling has been most memorable not for the macro, collective influence we thought we might have, but for the micro, individual, one-by-one people impacts we have been blessed to be party to. With the fun reminder of the Google Map app on my phone that "Home" in Pleasant View, UT is 9,730 miles from our home in Perth, I realize that people are people no matter where they live; they/we have the same kinds of problems; and the solution is the same anywhere on the planet: Jesus Christ. He is The Answer to every problem, and the Holy Ghost is the universal conveyor of truth, comfort, wisdom and peace.


I am grateful that even at my age, which is seemingly increasing at an exponential pace as I age evermore beyond 70, I can still learn so much! Only as I have served in and focused upon Welfare and Self-Reliance these last four months have I realized that self-reliance is truly NOT a collection of programs, but a doctrine; that it is a process that takes a lifetime to attain; and that Emotional Resilience is a virtue and blessing that is needed by every member of the Church.


It is such a blessing, and it provides such a unique perspective, to be in the Lord's service 24/7. To be spared and free from worldly distractions, which enables more laser focus on the Work, coupled with the palpable blessings of being set apart as a missionary, has truly expanded my vision and experience of what it means to be an "instrument in the Lord's hands". I am so grateful to have and feel the companionship and influence of the Holy Ghost in my life, and to see, most humbly, how the Lord has used us to influence some of his precious children here in Australia. Its quite amazing to feel, I mean REALLY feel, that other than family and dear friends, no worldly possession or experience I've had in my life is of any importance compared to the gospel of Jesus Christ and this opportunity to share it with others. The clock is ticking; we have only 19 months left. I'm so excited for all that I will yet learn and the new people that I will come to know and love.










21 views0 comments

1 Kommentar


Hannah Williams
Hannah Williams
06. Dez. 2022

Great update Tony! You have such a great perspective. Love what you said about micro and people are the same everywhere. We all have problems and we all need God! I'm so happy you guys get to do this. Miss

Gefällt mir
bottom of page